Linda Louise Rigsbee

HomeSpun Literature is bound to please.

Favorable Results

David Stewart Photo by David Stewart.

Kneel, rise, s-t-r-e-t-c-h … always a fraction of an inch beyond my reach. I’ve been working every day for hours – weeks. It’s taking so long, but I like the results. The approval in my husband’s eyes gives me the energy to continue. People are asking how I did it and I delight in giving them all the details. Sometimes even I stop to admire my work. The thing I like most about it is the simple maintenance – and the graceful beauty, of course. Once the last coat of polyurethane is applied, I’ll be finished with the floor.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Favorable Results

  1. Hah! She wasn’t doing what I expected, although I didn’t know what to expect.

  2. Ah striving to better her home. my wife would see herself in this story.

  3. aha! and there i was thinking in a different direction. mrs. fixit is fixing the floor while i was thinking he was encouraging her differently. well done.

  4. Very nice. A lot of work in the making the home nice… 😛

  5. Nice twist at the end – I love how words and stories can mean so many different things.

  6. petrujviljoen on said:

    Light hearted – nice!

  7. Dear Linda,
    I came away from your story with a wide grin. A job well done, indeed. 🙂
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  8. Really like this – her peaceful striving to make her home beautiful, her husband’s pleasure in her efforts. I like this couple.

  9. I’m thinking of my own weight loss and how you have done it too, then the door twist and I love it. nice work.

  10. 🙂 Nice practical twist.

  11. Very sweet and simple. Lovely!

  12. I like this very much. I did not expect that ending. Neat!

  13. I like the simple relating of the home-y works she’s doing and the time she’s spending on something that will be so worthwhile. I didn’t know exactly what to expect when I began reading so you surprised me in a relaxed way. (I also wish she’d come and do our floors when she’d done.) 🙂

    janet

  14. Isnt is a great feeling of accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

