Linda Louise Rigsbee

HomeSpun Literature is bound to please.

Diving into the Helmet

Douglas M Macilroy provided April 18 Friday Fictioneer Photo Prompt

Douglas M Macilroy provided April 18 Friday Fictioneer Photo Prompt

April 18th Friday Fictioneer’s Flash Fiction Photo Prompt by Douglas M Macilroy transported me back to motherhood in “Diving into the Helmet.”

I get that the toy diver’s helmet was never meant for an adult head, but there should be some easy way to get the thing off. It would be bad enough for a 9-year-old to catch his mom cleaning his room, but to find me in this helmet?
I didn’t hear the bus stop or the front door open, but I had no trouble hearing Andy guffaw.
When he opened the latch on the helmet and released me, I gave him a stern look and said “Next time clean your own room.”
Muffled laughter followed me out the door.

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Diving into the Helmet

  1. How embarrassing for the poor Mum.
    Fun story and well told πŸ™‚

  2. sometimes we goof up, and we have to take our lumps. a helmet isn’t even enough protection though. well done.

  3. Funny story and well written. XD . That would be embarrassing.

  4. Whoops! I could feel her embarrassment, Linda, and his response. Good one.

    janet

  5. Very, very cute! What a hoot – thank goodness you didn’t have to carpool! Nan πŸ™‚

  6. Very cute story. Supplied me with a good morning chuckle

  7. Dear Linda,

    Your last line was perfect. What else do you say when you’ve gotten yourself stuck in your son’s toy helmet? πŸ˜‰ LOL

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. So cute. Hope she got it off.

  9. You made me laugh πŸ˜€ Thank you!

  10. Thank you. Both Moms and Dads can relate to that part. Thanks for stopping by.

  11. I had to read this twice to get the gist – perhaps I’m just a bit slow this Saturday a.m., but once I did I laughed out loud. Good job!

  12. Linda,
    the characters here are so vibrant; I can just picture the mom, waiting in embarrassment for her son to get her out of her mess. Nice story.
    -David

  13. just have to laugh over your mommy character’s dilemma, Linda. it’s either clean your room, make the bed or pick up your clothes…and most of the time it gets done, but not by the kid(s) – great story!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

