Linda Louise Rigsbee

HomeSpun Literature is bound to please.

Procrastination by Candlelight

June 6, 2014 Friday Fictioneer’s Photo Prompt by Douglas M. Macilroy took me on free flight into the darkness. Join us every Friday with our host, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/6-june-2014/ in our 100 word response to a photo. Here’s mine:June 6

The electricity had been off for nearly an hour. My guests would arrive in the morning and I had waited until the last minute to clean house. Everything I had to do required electricity or more light than a candle could provide. I had been resisting an urge to work an on-line jigsaw puzzle, thinking the electricity would come on any minute, but I caved. I grabbed a candle and ran to my office, searching my cluttered desktop. As I turned the laptop on, the bright screen filled me with anticipation. My joy turned to disappointment as the electricity came on.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Procrastination by Candlelight

  1. Linda! This is so fun. Although I’ve never allowed myself to procrastinate (Father was and engineer, Mother a librarian. Both with high expectations) I could so relate to this.

  2. Linda,I enjoyed the title and the hunorous story. It sounds like me at times. It probably sounds like a lot of us at times. Well written. πŸ™‚ —Susan

  3. It’s my favourite hobby, too, Linda! πŸ™‚ Good story.

  4. Dear Linda,

    So, you’ve met me, eh? Perfect title for my picture and a lovely story to go with it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. You know Linda, I’m a procrastinator too. Good story! Thanks, Nan πŸ™‚

  6. Dear Linda,

    Perfect title to my own story. Love it.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. I believe they call that the law of sod. Time to get your Marigolds on!

Leave a Reply

