Linda Louise Rigsbee

HomeSpun Literature is bound to please.

Too Many Signs

“Right there! At the sign! You missed it! How could you miss it?”
“Which sign?” I snarled.
My husband glared at me. “Which sign? You didn’t see that sign?”
I rolled my eyes in exasperation. “There were big signs, little signs, signs on signs…which one was I supposed to be looking at?”
“Pull over. I’ll drive.”
He’d get no argument out of me about that. I hated driving in town. I pulled over and let him drive. He circled around the block and came back to the corner. I wasn’t about to tell him he turned the wrong way.

Photo Prompt by Jean L Hayes

Photo Prompt by Jean L Hayes

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Too Many Signs

  1. Sounds like a fun drive. Hope they arrive together. Great dialogue.

  2. Why is driving such a source of angst between couples? I don’t get it. I’ve experieced it but I don’t get it. Your story captures the situation really well.

  3. Dear Linda,

    She should have dropped him off and kept going. Back seat drivers, sheesh. Nice story. Reminded me of Rochelle.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Dear Linda,

    Oh this scenario is all too familiar. There’s a reason I never drive with my husband in the car. Your last line is perfect.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    PS Good to see you here. 😀

  5. Their voices ring true. Wise woman to know when she has said enough. Well done.

Leave a Reply

