Linda Louise Rigsbee

HomeSpun Literature is bound to please.

A Walk In The Park

roger-bultot-flowerToday’s Friday Fictioneer Photo Prompt was provided by Roger Bultot. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting Friday Fictioneers. 100 word count flash fiction. https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2017/02/01/3-february-2017/

Here is my response:

At first I could see only a block wall from the hospital window. It defined my future, going nowhere. I fell off the porch steps and broke my back. They said I would never walk again. I had become a burden to my family.

When my young son looked out the window, he saw something else.

“They could put dirt in there and plant trees. Then it would be a park for the patients.”

I thought about that long after he left. My life could be a block wall or a park. Only I could determine which it would be.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “A Walk In The Park

  1. handmadejewelryhaven on said:

    We are, truly, the masters of our universe.
    Thank you for reminding us.
    Found your blog on FF and hope you can visit mine also 🙂

    – Lisa

  2. Wonderful comment on life!

  3. O, what a great ending!

  4. It’s all in how we choose to see the world…

  5. What an inspiring and practical revelation! Well done.

  6. Dear Linda,

    I’m so pleased the photo spoke to you and in such a wonderful way. I love the way she made the decision to make her life a park. Beautifully done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Nice philosophical tale, and a good lesson to take on board.

Leave a Reply

